98th Infantry Division, WW II

98th Division "Iroquois" Insignia

The Indian Head insignia of the 98th Infantry Division was authorized by the War Department on December 20, 1922. With the Division's peace time headquarters in upper New York State, the Iroquois Warrior was chosen as the units insignia. New York State was the home of the five tribes of the Iroquois nation:  The Onondaga, Cayugas, Senecas, Mohawks and Oneidas, which is represented in the five feathers of the indian. The Indian represented is the Iroquois Chief, Hiawatha.

The colors of the insignia, orange and blue, represent the Dutch House of Nassau, fighters for freedom, which colonized New Amsterdam, later rechristened New York. The shield is similar in shape to the New York State seal.